The Wyoming lease agreement defines the rights and responsibilities of the landlord (lessor) and tenant (lessee) in relation to the rental property.
It is the right of the tenant to occupy and use the rented unit, and it is their responsibility to pay the rent. On the other hand, it is the landlord's obligation to allow that possession and the right to collect rent.
The lease agreement may include any terms that the parties deem necessary and desirable to more precisely regulate their relationship, as long as they are not explicitly prohibited by law.
The first thing landlords and tenants should keep in mind is the rental application. The tenant fills it with information about employment, income, creditworthiness, etc.
After the landlord reviews the application and is sure the tenant is a good fit, the tenant and landlord negotiate the following terms of the lease.
Wyoming Lease Agreement Required Disclosures
The landlord should keep in mind that he must inform the tenant of the following disclosures:
Lead-based paint disclosure. Due to health concerns, federal regulation requires landlords to notify all tenants of the potential danger of lead paint presence if they rent a property built before 1978.
Non-refundable fee disclosure. When collecting the security deposit, the landlord is obliged to notify the tenant in writing if the security deposit is for any non-refundable cost. (§ 1-21-1207)
Wyoming Lease Agreement Optional Disclosures
The following disclosures are recommended to be included in the lease agreement for the benefit of the parties. Namely:
Utility costs disclosure. Specify in the contract the utility expenses for which the tenant is responsible (e.g., electricity, water, heating).
Move-in checklist. Request from the tenant to complete a check-in application detailing the property’s condition on the day of the move-in.
Housing rules disclosure. Put in the lease if there are any residence-related rules, such as quiet hours or when noise is not allowed, and other rules to avoid potential conflicts with neighbors.
Information about the landlord and manager. State in the lease the contact information about the building manager and the person to whom the tenant can pay rent and utilities, so they can always reach that person to give over rent or report a problem with the unit.
Consequences of Non-Disclosure
Tenants may bring legal action against the landlord if they fail to ensure the health and safety of the rented units.
Additionally, if the landlord does not disclose to the tenants the possibility that the rented property contains lead paint, the landlord is confronted with a fine of up to $19,507. (24 CFR § 30.65)
Wyoming Lease Agreement Security Deposits
Security Deposit Maximum
Wyoming law does not specify the maximum amount of a security deposit that a landlord may request from a tenant.
This means the landlord is free to determine the amount of the tenant’s security deposit.
Security Deposit Return
According to Wyoming statute, the landlord must return the security deposit within 30 days of the termination of the lease or within 15 days of the tenant's notification of a new mailing address, whichever is later. (§ 1-21-1208(a))
The utilities deposit may only be used to cover the landlord's bills. When the tenant provides proof that he has paid all utilities, the landlord must return the utility deposit to the tenant within 10 days of receiving the proof of payment. (§ 1-21-1208(b))
When is Rent Due in Wyoming? (Grace Period)
According to Wyoming statute, there is no grace period. The tenant must simply pay the rent when it is due.
Wyoming Rent Late Fees
Wyoming law does not set a limit on the minimum or maximum amount a landlord may charge for late payments.
If the parties have agreed on a late fee, they should specify it in the lease.
Wyoming NSF Checks
If the tenant issues a check that is not payable, it is their obligation to pay the landlord the amount of the check plus a collection fee that is not to exceed thirty dollars ($30.00). (§ 1-1-115(a))
Wyoming Landlord’s Right to Enter
According to Wyoming law, the landlord is not required to notify the tenant in advance of the intention to enter the property.
It is advised, however, that the landlord and tenant define in the lease when the landlord may enter the property and how far in advance they must notify the tenant.
Wyoming Lease Agreement FAQ
Yes, a written lease agreement in Wyoming that is signed by both parties is legally binding.
On the other hand, the landlord and tenant might verbally conclude a lease agreement. However, in the event of a dispute, there will be no formal evidence of the lease.
When writing a lease agreement, you should include the following elements:
Information about the landlord and the tenant
Details about the property
Rent amount and the due date
Late and non-refundable fees
Security deposit information
Rights and duties of the landlord and the tenant
Rules about the contract termination
Signatures of contractual parties
You can simply download the template for the lease agreement used in Wyoming from our website.
Whether you are looking for a standard, commercial, or month-to-month lease agreement, your lease agreement will be in accordance with all the mandatory federal and state rules and regulations.
After the contract is signed, a second property inspection is carried out to determine whether the property fits the previously agreed-upon standards for safe living.
If everything is in order, the landlord and tenant will sign the move-in form.
After that, it remains for the landlord to hand over the keys to the tenant to enable the tenant to move in.