The Connecticut eviction notice is a document that the landlord issues to inform the tenant that certain conditions for terminating the lease agreement have been met and that the tenant has a certain number of days to vacate the property.
In some situations, like minor violations of the lease, the landlord can give the tenant the option to remedy the situation and stop the eviction. Contrary, for some extreme violations, the tenant doesn’t have the option to remedy and must vacate the property within a very short period of time from receiving the notice.
Types of Eviction Notice in Connecticut
Based on the reason for eviction, there are different types of eviction notices the landlord can use.
Eviction for the Non-Payment of Rent
In Connecticut, the landlord can issue an eviction notice to a tenant who fails to pay the rent on time. They will give the tenant 3 days to vacate the property, and the tenant cannot stop the eviction by paying the due rent.
Eviction for the Lease Violation
If the tenant makes a violation of the lease agreement, the landlord must issue an eviction notice, giving them a 15-day notice to vacate the property. Depending on the severity of the violation, the tenant may be able to cure and stay at the property. Some of the non-curable violations are:
Selling illegal drugs at the leased unit
Causing willful and substantial damage to the property
Causing a health and safety danger to other residents
Assaulting the other resident or landlord
Eviction for Month-to-Month and End of the Lease
When the lease term is over, or in the case of a month-to-month lease, the landlord must give the tenant a notice that they must vacate the property in no more than 3 days from the moment they have received the notice.
Eviction for the Rent Increase
If the tenant refuses to accept the fair and equitable rent increase, the landlord can issue an eviction notice to the tenant, giving them 3 days to vacate the property without the option to remedy.
Eviction Laws and Requirements in Connecticut
Laws & Requirements
Rent Payment Grace Period: 9 or 14 days (§47a-15a)
Non-Payment of Rent: 3 days (§47a-23(a))
Incurable Lease Violation: 15 days (§47a-15)
Curable Lease Violation: 15 days (§47a-15)
Illegal Activity: Immediately (§47a-31)
Periodic Tenancy Termination: Not mentioned in state statutes.
Intentional Damage to the Property: 3 days (§47a-23(a))
When is Rent Late in Connecticut?
Unless the parties provided something different in the lease agreement, the rent is due at the beginning of each rental period and is considered late 4 days after the due date for a one-week tenancy and 9 days after the due date for a longer tenancy. Therefore, if the rent is due on the first day of the month, it will be late starting from the tenth day of the same month.
Grounds for Eviction in Connecticut
The landlord can evict the tenant for the following reasons:
Grounds for Eviction
Violation of the lease agreement
Expiration of the lease term
Curable or incurable nuisance
If the owner decides to terminate the lease and live at the leased property
If the tenant refuses to accept the fair and equitable rent increase
In case the tenant conducts an illegal activity at the leased property
Eviction Process in Connecticut
The eviction process in Connecticut starts when the landlord issues the eviction notice to the tenant. Depending on the reasons for the eviction, this process can last from four to seven weeks.
#1. Write a Notice
The landlord should enter the reasons for the eviction, the deadline by which the tenant must vacate the property, and inform the tenant whether they have the option to cure the violation and stay at the leased property.
#2. File the Complaint
If the tenant doesn’t comply with the instructions in the eviction notice, the landlord can submit the complaint to the relevant Connecticut court, according to the location of the property. When submitting the complaint, the landlord must pay $175 as a filing fee.
#3. Serve the Tenant
The court will inform the tenant of the proceedings, giving them the opportunity to raise their arguments against the landlord’s claims in writing and informing them about the date of a court hearing. The tenant must receive the summons and complaint at least 12 days before the court hearing date.
#4. Tenant Files the Appearance
The tenant should also file an appearance with the court, acknowledging that they have received the landlord's complaint and that they are aware of the legal proceedings against them. If the tenant fails to provide this within the deadline provided by the court, the landlord may request the court to issue a default judgment in their favor without having the hearing.
#5. Court’s Hearing and Judgment
After the hearing, the court will issue the judgment, and if they rule in the landlord's favor, a summary possession execution will also be issued. The tenant will then have five (5) days to appeal, after which the court will issuethe Writ of Execution.
Other Eviction-Related Forms in Connecticut
Other Eviction-Related Forms
Complaint for Non-Payment of Rent. This form can be submitted to the court to initiate the eviction process before the court when the tenant fails to pay the rent and doesn’t want to leave the property.
Complaint for Lapse of Time. The landlord uses this form to submit the eviction lawsuit against the tenant who failed to leave the leased unit after the lease was over.
Summons. This document is filed with the complaint with the court’s clerk, and it informs the tenant about the legal proceedings that are initiated against them.
Answer to Complaint. The tenant can use this form to present their arguments against the landlord's claims before the court.
Appearance. The tenant should also submit this form to the court to confirm their appearance at the court hearing.
Eviction Information for Landlords in Connecticut
Even after the landlord wins the legal proceedings before the court, they cannot forcefully remove the tenant from the premises without a Writ of Execution. This document is issued by the court 5 days after the judgment unless the tenant appeals the court's judgment. The landlord can then use this document to hire the sheriff’s office or other relevant body to forcefully remove the tenant from the property.
If the landlord wins the eviction lawsuit for the rent non-payment, they cannot use it to claim the unpaid rent. If there is any rent that remains unpaid, the landlord can file a separate lawsuit to claim it from the tenant.
Eviction Information for Tenants in Connecticut
The possible arguments the tenants can use in Connecticut to defend against the eviction are:
Eviction Information for Tenants
If the landlord used illegal or self-help methods to evict them
That they have not committed the violation the landlord is claiming
That the landlord started the eviction procedure as a retaliatory measure
That the eviction is an act of the landlord’s discrimination against them
How to Write an Eviction Notice in Connecticut
Connecticut Eviction Notice Checklist
Connecticut Eviction Notice FAQ
You can file an eviction notice when the tenant is late with their rent payment, when they violate the lease agreement, when the lease term is over, when the tenant commits certain illegal activities at the leased property, and more.
The only legal way to remove the tenant from the leased property is by starting the eviction process. To start the eviction process, you must first issue the eviction notice and deliver it to the tenant.
The eviction process in Connecticut can last between 4 and 7 weeks, depending on the type of lease, reasons for the eviction, and more. Sometimes, if the tenant uses all the legal ways to fight the eviction and appeals the court's judgment, this process can last even longer.
The 3-day eviction notice is sufficient only if you want to end the month-to-month lease, when the tenant fails to pay the rent, or when they object to the fair and equitable rent increase. In other cases, the law requires the landlord to give longer notice to the tenant.